Next Event: March 21
Header image

Let’s Draw The Simpsons! -hosted by Jason Fruchter

Our next meeting is March 21st. It will be a hands-on drawing activity featuring step-by-step techniques on how to draw characters from the hit TV animated series The Simpsons. We’ll have paper and pencils available to all who attend. Or better yet, bring your own sketchbook!

Everyone knows The Simpsons: Homer, Bart, Marge, Lisa, and Maggie. But did you know that beneath those bulgy eyes and protruding upper lips is a carefully constructed structured drawing? It’s true! The creators of The Simpsons have spent years developing a process that makes it “possible for thousands of artists (pencillers, clean-uppers, eraser-monkeys, inkers, in-between-the-liners, crayonists, colorizers, mouse-clickers, and magical elves) to draw the Simpsons pretty much the same way.”¹ In order to establish this consistent look, the studio established a comprehensive style guide that illustrates specific guidelines how to correctly draw each character. These guides, or model sheets, were revealed to the public in the 2007 book titled The Simpsons Handbook: Secret Tips From The Pros, published by HarperCollins. It is from this book that Jason Fruchter will lead the group in the techniques used by the animators and illustrators who draw those famous characters we’ve been watching for the past 25 years (yes, the show is that old!).

BartJason will draw from his experience as an approved illustrator for licensed properties to guide the group through the step-by-step process of  drawing several characters from the show. We’ll cover the main family members including Homer, Bart, Marge, and Lisa. Well also have fun drawing some of the supporting cast members like Bart’s friend Milhouse, Moe the bartender, Otto the bus driver, and those lovable cartoon stars Itchy and Scratchy.

Please remember, this is just a fun exercise and definitely NOT to be taken too seriously. Nobody is expected to draw a perfect Homer Simpson, or even a semi- recognizable Homer Simpson. Not even your host claims to be able to draw the characters perfectly. Rather, this is an opportunity to learn the techniques the pros use to draw cartoons using simple shapes and lines. You just might find your own drawing skills will improve as a result. So let’s have some fun as we and learn and draw together!

Where: Artist and Craftsman Supply, 4350 8th Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105. 206.545.0091
When: Saturday, February 21st, 2015. 5:30pm – 7:30pm

Free parking across the street until 7:30.

¹Quote from Mat Groening, creator of The Simpsons from The Simpsons Handbook: Secret Tips From The Pros ©2007 HarperCollins Publishers


draw Homer

From “The Simpson’s Handbook: Secret Tips From The Pros” ©2007 by Matt Groening Productions, Inc.